EAEU plans to introduce EPR for WEEE and Batteries in its member states

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), which consists of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia plans to introduce requirements for WEEE and waste batteries collection and recycling. The founding documents of EAEU do not regulate waste management as such and EAEU cannot issue EU WEEE Directive style technical regulation. The WEEE and waste batteries collection and recycling requirements will be introduced by adding special annexes to the Technical Regulation 037/2016 “On restrictions of hazardous substances in electronics and radio electronics” (TR on RoHS). Product requirements including end-of-life stage management is in the competence of the EAEU.

Batteries would become products covered by the TR on RoHS. WEEE and waste batteries recycling would be regulated by the new Annex 4 “Requirements for the disposal of electrical and radio electronics products, which are subject to the technical regulations of the Eurasian Economic Union “On the restriction of the use of hazardous substances in electrical and electronic products” (TR EAEU 037/2011).

The requirements mirror EU WEEE Directive. There would be no centralized EAEU WEEE and waste batteries management system; each EAEU country is obliged to develop own legislation and systems as required by the Annex 4.

According to the draft, EEE and batteries must have “wheely bin” marking. In each EAEU country producers and importers must register themselves and achieve WEEE and waste batteries collection and recycling targets by establishing and financing own or collective PROs and report the achieved results to the competent national authorities.

If the amendments would be approved, it may require revisions of the WEEE and waste batteries management legislation in Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan have currently no special WEEE and waste batteries legislation.

The deadline to submit the proposal to Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission is Q4, 2022.